Detail view of
The Alchemyst



Image of Book
Author
Scott, Michael
Descriptors
Alchemy
Gods and Goddesses
Good vs. Evil
Imaginary Worlds
Immortality
Magic
Magicians
Prophecies
Series
Sorcerers
Twins
Young Adult Fiction
Location/Setting:
San Francisco, California
Time Period:
2000s
Other titles you may enjoy
Other authors you may enjoy
Chima, Cinda Williams
Nix, Garth
Riordan, Rick
Rowling, J. K.
Summary
Fifteen-year-old twins Sophie and Josh go to their ordinary summer jobs one day never expecting to get pulled into an ancient feud between rival alchemists Nicholas Flamel and Dr. John Dee. For centuries Flamel has possessed an ancient and powerful book that contains the secret formula for immortality.
Critique
Modern day teens meet historical figures wrapped in legend, mystery, and magic. This first book in the series is full of action, adventure, and even some humor. Fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson will enjoy this roller coaster ride. Recommended.
ISBN
9780385733571
  iBistro
# of Pages
375
Published
2007
Formats
Young Adult
Reviewer's Initials: MA


Search Advanced Search Latest
Descriptors About the Reading Room Other Links
Between the Covers iBistro Library Catalog RRPL Home

Books in your Bookbag
0
View your bag
Print your bag
Empty your bag

                  For questions or comments regarding the reading room, please contact: RRPL Webmaster