Detail view of
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine



Image of Book
Author
Honeyman, Gail
Descriptors
Abuse
Emotional Problems
Female Protagonists
Fires
Foster Care
Friendship
Man-Woman Relationships
Self-actualization
Social Issues
Victims
Violence
Location/Setting:
Scotland
Time Period:
2010s
Other titles you may enjoy
A Man Called Ove by Backman, Fredrik
The Rosie Project by Simsion, Graeme C.
Other authors you may enjoy
Summary
Traumatized as a young girl, the now 30-year-old Eleanor Oliphant has gotten through life by avoiding most human contact. That all changes when she is forced to contact the IT guy at her office. She meets Raymond and the two end up helping a man who has passed out in the street--propelling Eleanor into social situations that she's not quite, but nearly, ready for.
Critique
Eleanor is a quirky character who has seen hardship and pain but has very true-to-life fears. She starts the book as not very likable but transforms in front of the reader--becoming a lovable character you'll root for. This book is sometimes funny, a bit of a tearjerker and a manual on being a better person--all rolled into one. The perfect read for fans of "The Rosie Project" and "A Man Called Ove."
ISBN
9780735220683
  iBistro
# of Pages
327
Published
2017
Formats
Reviewer's Initials: CO


Search Advanced Search Latest
Descriptors About the Reading Room Other Links
Between the Covers iBistro Library Catalog RRPL Home

Books in your Bookbag
0
View your bag
Print your bag
Empty your bag

                  For questions or comments regarding the reading room, please contact: RRPL Webmaster